Westinghouse iGen2200 – Super-quiet Portable Generator

(10 customer reviews)

$499.00

$499.00

A traditional generator was all that was available during a power outage in the past. There are no more days like this. When faced with a comparable predicament, you now have a considerably greater range of available options. The Westinghouse iGen2200 Portable Inverter Generator is an excellent example of a smaller and lighter unit.

Suppose you’re planning a camping trip or an outdoor fair and need a reliable power supply in an emergency blackout. In that case, you’ll want to invest in a quality portable generator from a reputable manufacturer. One of these companies is Westinghouse. One of the top manufacturers globally, this American company has produced a wide range of quality generators throughout the years.

How does iGen2200 stack up against Honda and the rest of the field? Is the cost-benefit analysis accurate? Our Westinghouse iGen2200 review will attempt to provide some insight into this mystery.

Who can use this Generator?

For the most part, the Westinghouse iGen2200 portable inverter generator is designed for the following applications:

  • Tailgaters and campers who want to enjoy power everywhere they go.
  • Those who enjoy making things by hand but prefer to do so on the fly.

In the following sections, we’ll analyze the device’s power characteristics, the number of outlets it may use, its portability, and any other features, including information on its emissions compliance.

How much power can we get, and How much time can this Generator run?

iGen2200 has a Westinghouse OHV 4-stroke engine of 79cc (3 horsepower). Running wattage is 1800W, peak wattage is 2200W, and it is powered by gasoline. This power can be doubled by connecting it to another similar or compatible unit via a parallel port (Westinghouse WHPC Parallel Cord(opens in a new tab) not included).

With a noise level of 52 dBA, this inverter generator may be started using a simple pull-start mechanism that is only slightly louder than the sound of rain.

The iGen2200 can run for up to 12 hours with a full tank of fuel (fuel consumption around 0.1 GPH).

As the iGen2200 generates a clean sine wave, it is safe for delicate equipment to be plugged into an AC outlet because of its 3% Total Harmonic Disruption (THD).

Number of Outlets

There are two AC outlets on the control panel:

  • 20 amps of 120 volts (5-20R)

It also has two DC outlets: two 5V USB ports, making it easy to charge electrical devices like smartphones and tablets.

Portability of the Generator

The Westinghouse iGen2200 inverter generator measures L19.8 x W11.4 x H17.9 inches and is housed in a steel enclosure. Because of this, it is more visually appealing than open-frame items. Power can be generated in various ways, but this is the most efficient.

iGen2200 qualifies as a portable, lightweight generator because it weighs just 46 pounds. The generator’s power may be enjoyed on the go because a single person can move it with little effort. Additionally, the case features a built-in handle that makes carrying it a breeze.

Features we like about this machine

The included LED indications will let you know if the generator is overloaded and ready or if the oil level is too low.

An overload safeguard (circuit breaker) and an automatic low oil shut-off ensure that you may use the device with confidence.

Additionally, a funnel, tool kit, and oil are included with the Westinghouse iGen2200 and the standard literature and owner’s manual. There is also an approved storage cover that can be purchased separately.

Warranty information

The Westinghouse iGen2200 comes with a three-year guarantee. There may be a limit to this guarantee, and it may not cover all generator components.

Please refer to Westinghouse’s warranty policies for further information on the warranty of Westinghouse generators (opens in a new tab). You can also get in touch with their Customer Support department.

Westinghouse igen2200 comparison with other

The following are supplied to give you an idea of how the Westinghouse igen2200 generators compare to other generators of similar power (between 1500 and 2500 W).

  • The Westinghouse iGen2200 has a dry weight of just 46.3 pounds, making it one of the lightest 1500 to 2500 watt generators. If weight is an issue for you, the Champion 200949, weighing in at just 38.6 pounds, is a contender in this power range.
  • This inverter generator is one of the quietest because it has a maximum noise level of 52 dBA. One of the quietest devices in the same power range as this one is the Honda EU2200i, which has a noise level of 48 dBA at its lowest.
  • Its 12 hours of runtime on a full tank at 25% load puts it in the middle of the pack of comparably powered generators in terms of autonomy. The Westinghouse WGen2000 has a comparable power output and boasts a run life of up to 26 hours if you’re concerned about autonomy.
  • A generator’s fuel capacity plays a vital role in its autonomy; however, discussing the topic without also discussing its efficiency is a waste of time. While this inverter generator isn’t as fuel-efficient as others in the same wattage range, it is one of the most fuel-efficient models available. To further increase fuel efficiency, the Energizer eZV2200P generator, which boasts a gas consumption of only 0.08 GPH, may be the appropriate generator for you to use.

Westinghouse iGen2200 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator

$499.00  in stock
3 new from $499.00
Free shipping
as of May 21, 2022 2:02 pm

Features

  • 1800 Rated Watts and 2200 Peak Watts at Less Than 3% THD - Weighs Only 46 Lbs. - Gas Powered - Two 120V 20 Amp Outlets, Two USB Outlets
  • Great Choice for Home Use as an Emergency Backup in a Power Outage - Strong Enough to Run All Your Home Essentials
  • Extremely Quiet, Extremely Fuel Efficient: as Low as 52 dBA Noise Output and 12 Hour Run Time on a 1. 2 Gallon Gas Tank - Features "Economy Mode" for Maximum Fuel Efficiency
  • Parallel Capable - Combine Your iGen2200 with the Westinghouse WH2200iXLT, iGen1200, iGen2200, and iGen2500 to Increase Available Wattage and Amperage (Requires Westinghouse Parallel Cord)
  • All Westinghouse Portable Generators are Functionally Tested in the Factory and May Contain Minimum Residual Oil and/or Fuel Odor; EPA and CARB Compliant; Backed By 3-Year Limited Service, Labor, and Parts Coverage and Nationwide Customer Service Network

Westinghouse iGen2200 generator from Walmart

Westinghouse iGen2200 Portable Inverter Generator

$579.00 $649.00 out of stock
Last update was on: May 18, 2022 2:17 am

Few points about this Westinghouse-iGen2200 inverter generator comparison above

  • All prices mentioned above are in United States dollar.
  • This product is available at Amazon.com, Walmart.com.
  • At amazon.com you can purchase Westinghouse iGen2200 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator for only $499.00, which is 14% less than the cost in Walmart.com ($579.00).
  • The lowest price of Westinghouse iGen2200 Portable Inverter Generator was obtained on May 21, 2022 2:02 pm.

Westinghouse iGen2200 inverter generator Price History

Westinghouse iGen2200 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator, Westinghouse

Price: $499.00
as of May 21, 2022 2:02 pm
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $499.00May 21, 2022
Highest Price$499.00March 29, 2022
Lowest Price$404.21April 23, 2022
Since November 25, 2021

Last price changes

$491.77May 23, 2022
$499.00May 4, 2022
$491.77April 29, 2022
$499.00April 26, 2022
$404.21April 23, 2022

The portable Westinghouse iGen22000 gas-powered portable invertible generator is one of the most lightweight machines on the market. Westinghouse asserts the inverter is up to three times more fuel-efficient than some comparable brands. The low noise level is also suitable. Get this from Amazon.

Specification: Westinghouse iGen2200 – Super-quiet Portable Generator

Basic 10
Fuel Tank Capacity 1.2 Gallons
Fuel Type Gasoline
Noise level 52 dBA
Run Time 12 Hour
Running Watts 1800 Watts
RV Ready Yes
Start Type Electric
Starting Watts 2200 Watts
Unit Weight 46 Pounds
Warranty 3-year limited warranty
Generator Features
Engine 79cc
Volts 120
Fuel Gauge Yes
Hour Meter Yes
Handle Style Wheels and a pull handle
Choke Type N/A
Product information
brand
Specification
Product Dimensions 19.8 x 11.4 x 17.9 inches

10 reviews for Westinghouse iGen2200 – Super-quiet Portable Generator

4.5 out of 5
7
1
2
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Jeffrey J

    As Advertised. Easy to start. Unboxed it today. Setup instructions easy to follow. Took a little while to open panel to add oil, but only because I did not want to force it. It came with the premeasured amount of oil. I added gas and it started on second pull. I was surprised at how quietly it ran. Very happy with this purchase.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Ltfire

    Poor quality control. I bought two of these to pair for my RV. The first one that I unboxed would not start after I added the oil and fuel. I took the covers off and checked for spark, and found that the spark plug gap was set much tighter than the manual specs. I fixed that, then upon inspecting the fuel system, I found that the main line from the tank to the shutoff valve was pulled off of it’s fitting and a bolt had been stuck in there and clamped. After removing the bolt and installing the fuel line properly, the unit fired right up.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. firefighter2009

    Just what I needed! I can’t speak to the longevity of the generator, since it was only delivered today, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It came with slightly more than enough 10W-30 oil for the initial break-in period, so I just had to supply gas and I was good to go. It’s quiet, definitely louder than my dishwasher, but not by much. It would be easy to have a conversation with someone even with this running in between. I’m planning on having it on hand in case the power goes out and I need something to keep the freezer cold, but it’s also portable enough in case I wanted to use it camping.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Ryan P

    Super Quiet. Boght 5 of these and have opened and started them all just this afternoon. Amazing how easily they started and they are all exceptionally quite. Great value for money.
    I am putting them at all 21 of my higher-end rental properties!!

    Ryan

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Sammarie933

    Pricewise — best inverter generator on the market. Solid build yet easily portable. Straight forward directions for initial start-up, fired up on first pull. Second start still required choke, but hadn’t been running long. All subsequent warm-starts, no choke required. Prepped a couple fresh bottles with 11.75 ounces (0.37 quart) of synthetic oil, for first ‘break-in’ oil change, and to make future oil changes less of a guessing game when filling.

    A little ‘wobble’ of the idle in Efficiency mode (both under small load / no-load). Idles OK with Efficiency mode off. (wouldn’t allow upload of video from Dropbox) I do live at 7000′ in the mountains, so fuel/air mixture may be a little off. Connected to 37′, 50 amp travel trailer to vary power for break in. Handles individual appliances and electronics well — kicks in to higher idle when you try to draw 1200 watts, but settles quickly. SO quiet — don’t even mind running it late at night out in the country. Can’t even hear it run when 75-100 feet away, shouldn’t bother neighbors quite a ways from my 2 acre lot. Can barely hear it inside the travel trailer. Will be a great asset while boondocking.

    Ordered an iGen 4500 (from another vendor) and parallel cables to power both A/Cs — live out in Arizona, and may need both on occasion. Will do some research on getting high altitude carburetor kit(s) when my iGen 4500 comes in. Should not only smooth out the idle, but probably increase it’s already amazing fuel efficiency.

    My first inverter generator — completely satisfied, even with an uneven idle, but that can be worked on. Nice not to have to lug around my 200# 9500W dinosaur generator, or my 4000W & 2000W duel fuel old-school generators — they can hold down their spots in my garage or shed for job site power tools & emergencies. Looking forward to taking this iGen 2200 (and iGen 4500) on the road to the ‘boondocks’ — and checking off those bucket list travels over the winter months.

    Do not hesitate to buy any model of Westinghouse inverter generators. My only issue is I waited too long to purchase — but did research for over a year (and waited for iGen 4500 availability), glad I did my homework. Would give 5 stars if idle was smooth, but most likely an altitude issue. Most of my travels will be out West, so probably jet the carburetor for 3-5k feet (if a kit is available). An awesome purchase.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. Devin

    Great generator, but poor quality control. To start off, I would just like to say that I did a ton of research and went back and forth about this generator vs. the much more pricey Honda EU2200i. After reading a ton of great reviews of this Westinghouse generator, I decided to give it a shot. It showed up quickly, although a day later than the initial estimated delivery date. After adding oil (included) with the handy oil funnel (also included!), and topping off with some non-ethanol gasoline, I gave the pull starter 5-10 pulls (had to get fuel through the carb for the 1st start, so this wasn’t unexpected). It fired up relatively quickly, but I noticed it seemed to be laboring a bit and smoking (rich) more than it should. While I waited for it to clear up, hoping it was just attributed to the extra starting cranks before it kicked over, I see a puddle appear under the generator. I immediately shut off the generator and investigate, only to find out it’s gasoline!

    An hour later, I had carefully removed nearly the entire case plastics to gain better access to the working parts inside. What I found, after turning the fuel back on, was that fuel was pouring out of the fuel bowl on the bottom of the carb. I quickly disassembled the bowl, spilling additional gasoline everywhere (much to my wife’s chagrin as I was now in our basement workshop area) and found that the bowl gasket was slightly pinched. A quick reset of the gasket and the leak was fixed, just leaving a lot of gasoline to dry up from all of the internal areas of the generator.

    After a 1 hour no-load break in, and an oil change, I ran the generator for about 5 hours that weekend and it ran flawlessly. No muss, no fuss, it’s MUCH quieter than my old predator open frame generator and ran my large electric leaf blower without hardly even idling up. All of the good reviews of this generator hold true, and it’s a great value. It’s just unfortunate that this quality defect made it out of the factory and to the end user (me). Had I not ran this generator prior to needing it on a job, I would have been even more frustrated. All in all, I had to take off a couple stars for the initial quality and risk of leaking fuel into the case while running. I added a picture, but it’s hard to see the fuel that leaked out (probably several oz. leaked between running it for a few minutes and pulling the carb bowl off).

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Sammarie933

    Cool Features and reliable. I bought this for a deer hunting trip, we were going to need some portable power source. Worked absolutely perfect, fuel efficient, quiet and proved to be reliable. I suppose I could have taken a better picture of the generator..

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Gary01

    Igen22000. Starts very easy and is Quiet , the power output is great. There is no spitting or sputtering the engine runs very smoothly. I would definitely recommend for the cost to the value

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. SmokyMoments

    Perfect for My Camper Van Build! This generator ticked all the boxes: Westinghouse reliability, low noise, great features, ample power and a price 1/2 that of another popular generator with almost identical specifications. What’s not to love?

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. SmokyMoments

    As Good As It Gets! I had considered the pricey “favorite” for my camper van build, but I went with the Gen2200 after checking out all its features and the great reviews it is getting. It offers everything I need and at about half the cost of the other generator I was considering. Received in great shape, and after adding oil and gas per instructions started up with just a few pulls. Sound level is amusingly low in Eco mode. A little louder when handling a full load but still reasonable. It’s compact size will fit under my van’s bed platform without problem. All in all a great buy!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published.

    Expert Score 9.1
    Price
    9
    Quality
    9
    Value
    9.5
    Noise
    8.5
    Power
    9.5
    PROS:
    • Lightweight and easy to transport
    • Low noise output and quiet operation make it Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator.
    • Versatile use for sensitive electronics
    • The Price range of this quiet generator is perfect for me
    CONS:
    • Leaky carburetor like other traditional generators
    • This Westinghouse inverter generator a bit tough to start
    Last updated on May 21, 2022 2:02 pm
    Westinghouse iGen2200 – Super-quiet Portable Generator
    Westinghouse iGen2200 – Super-quiet Portable Generator

    $499.00

    Best Generator Review
    Logo