Westinghouse iGen4500 – Inverter Generator

(10 customer reviews)

$919.90

Description

Westinghouse iGen4500 Review: Welcome! The carbon monoxide sensors have fitted all of Westinghouse’s new models. Having this information makes this 4500-watt inverter generator even more appealing. Excellent news. A gas-only variant or a dual-fuel generator model (iGen4500DFc / see above) is available. Westinghouse is a fantastic company to work for.

You can’t go wrong with Westinghouse right now. The iGen4500 is one of the best generators in the company’s current lineup. The iGen4500c is an improved version of the iGen4500, a much more portable generator that still delivers 3700W of clean electricity when needed. And it looks exactly like the original, too. Make sure you get the exact model you desire before you buy it.

Who can use this Generator?

A quiet and portable inverter generator, the Westinghouse iGen4500 is primarily designed for:

  • Travelers with recreational vehicles (RVs) who want to improve their trip
  • A small number of people regularly participate in outdoor fairs, festivals, and activities.
  • When a power outage occurs, homeowners need a way to keep their needs powered up.
  • Tailgaters and campers who want to enjoy power everywhere they go.

In the following sections, we’ll analyze the device’s power characteristics, the number of outlets it may use, its portability, and any other features, including information on its emissions compliance.

How much power can we get, and How much time can this Generator run?

Fueled by gasoline, the Westinghouse iGen4500’s 224-cc (7.3-hp) OHV 4-stroke engine produces 120V. It has an operating wattage of 3700 watts and a peak wattage of 4500 watts, respectively. A parallel kit (opens in a new tab) is omitted, but the generator can be linked to a second unit for additional power.

The inverter generator has a noise level limit of 52 decibels (dBA) (just slightly noisier than a quiet suburb). In addition to the more traditional pull-start method, an attractive and easy electric starter is employed (battery included). The iGen4500 can also be remotely started for added ease of use (key fob included).

A full tank of 3.4 gallons of fuel allows the iGen4500 to run for up to 18 hours on a single charge (fuel usage of 0.19 GPH).

This AC adapter’s clean sine wave has a THD (Total Harmonic Disruption) of less than 3 percent, making it suitable for connecting sensitive gadgets.

Number of Outlets

The following three AC outlets can be found on the panel’s control panel:

  • 20 amps of 120 volts (5-20R)
  • Recessed 120V 30A power supply (TT-30R)

You can charge your mobile phone or tablet with two 5V USB ports located on the back of the device.

The TT-30R receptacle (TT stands for “Travel Trailer”) on this Westinghouse generator is RV-ready.

Portability of the Generator

Its closed frame design (L24.5 x W17.5 x H20 in) gives it an aesthetic edge over open-frame devices like the Westinghouse iGen4500. The style is up-to-date and ideal for generating power for personal use.

Despite being referred to as “portable” due to its weight of 104.7 lbs, moving or carrying the generator manually may be difficult (movable). However, this lack of maneuverability is made up for by its two wheels (about 5.5″) and telescopic handle, which make it easy to transfer once it’s on the ground.

Features we like about this machine

iGen4500’s control panel incorporates a digital data center that provides information on the remaining run time, lifespan run hours, power output, voltage, and fuel level, and so helps monitor the operation and status of the device.

In addition to this information, a light indicator tells you if the generator is overloaded.

Overload protection (circuit breaker) and an automated low oil shut-off ensure that the generator can be used with complete confidence.

The Westinghouse iGen4500 also comes with the following accessories: a key fob, a battery charger, oil, a tool kit, and a funnel. Separately, a storage cover can be purchased.

Warranty information

The guarantee on the Westinghouse iGen4500 lasts up to three years. There may be a limit to this guarantee, and it may not cover all generator components.

Please refer to Westinghouse’s warranty policies for further information on the warranty of Westinghouse generators (opens in a new tab). You can also get in touch with their Customer Support department.

Westinghouse iGen4500 comparison with other

Westinghouse iGen4500 is shown against those of similar-sized generators in the figures below for context (between 3500 and 4500 W).

  • The Westinghouse iGen4500’s dry weight of 104.7 pounds places it in the typical weight range for devices with a rated output of 3500 to 4500 watts or higher. Weighing in at just 66.1 pounds, the WEN GN400i takes the cake as one of the top performers in this power class.
  • The inverter generator has a noise level of 52 dBA, making it one of the quietest of its kind.
  • A full tank of iGen4500 may last up to 18 hours on a 25% load, which is in the middle of the range for generators of similar power. The Champion 200914, with a runtime of up to 22 hours, is one of the generators with similar power output and the maximum level of autonomy.
  • Even though run times are critical, they are heavily influenced by the vehicle’s fuel capacity. We need to consider the generator’s fuel consumption to get a complete picture. At a 25% load, the fuel consumption of this inverter generator is estimated to be around 0.19 GPH (gallon per hour), making it an average device compared to others with similar power. Aside from the previously mentioned fuel economy, you may also want to check out the vehicle’s emissions.

Westinghouse iGen4500 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator

$1,025.00  in stock
2 new from $1,025.00
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of June 28, 2022 12:03 pm

Features

  • 3700 Rated Watts and 4500 Peak Watts at Less Than 3% THD – Telescoping Handle – Gas Powered – Remote Start With Included Key Fob, Electric and Recoil Start
  • Features a 5–20R 120V Duplex Household Outlet, an RV-Ready Tt-30R 30 Amp Outlet and Two USB Outlets – Great Choice for Travel Trailers or Home Use – Strong Enough to Run All Your Essentials
  • Led Data Center: Rotating Digital Display Shows Fuel Level, Power Output, Remaining Run Time, Voltage Output, and Lifetime Hours
  • Extremely Quiet, Extremely Fuel Efficient: as Low as 52 dBA Noise Output and Up to 18 Hour Run Time on a 3. 4 Gallon Gas Tank – Features “Economy Mode” for Maximum Fuel Efficiency
  • All Westinghouse Portable Generators are Functionally Tested in the Factory and May Contain Minimum Residual Oil and/or Fuel Odor; EPA and CARB Compliant; Backed By 3-Year Limited Service, Labor, and Parts Coverage and Nationwide Customer Service Network

Westinghouse iGen4500 generator from other retails

Few points about this Westinghouse-iGen4500 inverter generator comparison above

  • All prices mentioned above are in United States dollar.
  • This product is available at Amazon, Homedepot, Lowes, Norwall, Westinghouseoutdoorpower, Walmart.com.
  • At amazon.com you can purchase Westinghouse iGen4500 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator for only $919.90, which is 33% less than the cost in Walmart.com ($1,377.00).
  • The lowest price of Westinghouse iGen4500 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator was obtained on June 13, 2022 7:40 am.

Westinghouse-iGen4500 generator from Walmart

Westinghouse-iGen4500 inverter generator Price History

Westinghouse iGen4500 Super Quiet Portable Inverter Generator, Westinghouse

Price: $1,025.00
as of June 28, 2022 12:03 pm
Buy from Amazon.com
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $1,025.00 June 28, 2022
Highest Price $1,025.00 April 18, 2022
Lowest Price $758.71 May 26, 2022
Since February 14, 2022

Last price changes

$1,025.00 June 3, 2022
$970.62 June 2, 2022
$758.71 May 26, 2022
$798.64 May 24, 2022
$1,025.00 May 18, 2022

The iGen4500 model from Westinghouse is an Inverter generator that you can have for many years to come. You will find this generator useful and easy to enjoy every time you need an extra source of energy. If you face a power outage in your house or go camping, it is an item to bring with you. Welcome to the Westinghouse iGen4500 Review post.

Additional information

brand

Starting Watts

4500 Watts

Running Watts

3700 Watts

Engine

224cc 4 Stroke

Volts

120

Fuel Type

Gasoline

Fuel Tank Capacity

3. 4 Gallon

Run Time

18 Hour

Fuel Gauge

Yes

Hour Meter

N/A

Handle Style

Telescoping Handle

Choke Type

N/A

Noise level

52 dBA

RV Ready

Yes

Start Type

Electric

Unit Weight

93 Pounds

Product Dimensions

18 x 10 x 15.5 inches

Warranty

3-Year Limited Service Warranty

10 reviews for Westinghouse iGen4500 – Inverter Generator

  1. Pixie traveler

    Hoping for a reliable unit after rocky start. Unit came with automatic choke issues, as detailed in previous reviews. Mine was no exception. I have a lifetime of small engine repair experience. After tearing unit down was able to identify the poor connection on starter module. Works fine now. Would be an issue if new owner was expecting unit to start and run without two hours of shop time invested. Zip tied wire to avoid strain on connection, connected to starter module, and applied a drop of hot glue to connection retention clip to secured during any vibration. Looking forward to many years of service. Plugged in my 26′ TT, ran AC and all appliances, generator did it’s job. Thanks.

  2. Jackone327

    IGen 4500DF I am banking on Westinghouse will make. Ordered this unit and first one was beat up by shipper so I refused the package. The sent me another unit and was in much better condition. Took unit out of box and and noticed back cover was not lined up with the blue sides and saw that the back cover was missing two screws. I did the setup and started it on propane and it started on first try. The generator runs great on propane but not in the eco mode it wants to surge but with non-ethanol gasoline it runs great in both modes. Much quieter than I thought. For all of you looking at YouTube videos the digital meter looks like it’s flashing but when you are running it the meter looks normal. I will be 101% satisfied once my screws are replaced and the surge is taken care of in the propane eco mode. I will post some video but my phone makes it sound much louder than it really is. Grab one you won’t be sorry!

  3. Dave98

    Awesome Inverter for our toy hauler. We can camp ! This generator is perfect. I received it on time with no damage. I followed the manufactures instructions for setup. The generator started rite up and runs very smooth even going from gas to propane and back. I am very happy with my purchase. Will recommend highly, especially if have toy hauler.

  4. Dzobe196

    Works as advertised so far, did have damage. The generator works as advertised so far. It is handy to be able to use either gasoline or propane to run this generator. It is very quiet, and appears to be powerful enough to power my new RV, although I haven’t been able to verify that just yet. The remote start is also a very nice feature. The unit did come with a crack in the housing case near the pull handle. This is only a cosmetic issue and doesn’t appear to affect the functionality of the unit. There was no damage to the original packaging, so this unit was shipped from the factory with this issue. Unfortunately, I didn’t discover the issue until it was too late, so now I’m stuck with it. At least the damage is only cosmetic at this point.

  5. EJS.

    Love This Generator! After months of reviewing just about every inverter generator on the market, I recently purchased the iGen4500DF and I couldn’t be more pleased. I wanted a quiet inverter type to power my 3600 watt travel trailer when dry camping. Unit is powerful, quiet, efficient and small enough to fit perfectly under my tonneau conver on my Silverado. At roughly 100lbs, it’s not exactly light weight, but I can manage to load and unload it on the bed of my pickup without assistance. This is heavier than the smaller inverters that you can one arm, but for a unit that delivers 4500 peak watts, the extra weight and size is worth it. Out of the box, generator started right up using all 3 starting methods: remote start, electric push button, and pull cord. Generator is able to run my 13,500 BTU A/C on my travel trailer and all appliances simultaneously, even in eco mode. One of the selling points for me was the electric start and remote start, which is rarely found on comparable models. Set up and initial run was a breeze after connecting the battery, adding the included oil, and adding fuel source. I haven’t used gasoline to run it as I only plan to run generator from propane, but having the option to use both is a great feature. All in all, I’m super satisfied with this generator. It’s quiet, reliable, and efficient. If you are on the fence about which model to purchase, the iGen4500DF is a winning choice.

  6. Timothyh47

    Easy to read status and very quiet. Bought it about a week ago, have been through the break in and put under load. So far it has been great and handles everything in the travel trailer with ease. Just add oil that is supplies and its ready for you to start using. The remote start is a pretty handy feature and if battery is low or dies there is a pull start for back up. So far so good. Would recommend.

  7. Squidle2078

    Ease of operation. Purchased recently and am very happy with how quiet and easily it is to operate. Push button start and remote start feature helps to not have to leave RV to start our generator. It also has a large gasoline tank and allows to run all night! I love the extended pull for ease of movement!

  8. AJ Moren

    Never go camping without it! Our family decided to buy the iGen4500 to be done with running two generators to accommodate our RV. We couldn’t be happier with all the features that this model offers including remote start. The remote start was a first for us and is now and forevermore a requirement. The fact that there is an “eco” mode is a plus as well. Makes weekends, dry camping, at the lake a lot easier! Five stars!

  9. GordonL

    IGEN4500DF. I bought this generator for emergency purposes and in the event of a power outage. I research generators for some time and concluded that the iGEB4500DF is the best to get for the money. Out of the box, everything looked fine, I followed the instructions to set up the generator. According to step 3 on Initial Oil Fill, it states, “Using the supplied funnel and oil, pour the entire bottle of oil into the engine.” Well following that instruction, I had oil leaking out of the oil fill hole. Meaning there was a lot of residual oil left in the engine. Your manual for the iGEN4500 reference residual oil, but your iGEN4500DF manual does not state anything about residual oil. The amount of oil leaked out and the amount I had to drain from the engine is much more than residual. Please make sure your iGEN4500DF manual warns users of the possibility of residual oil in the engine and to pour the oil incrementally and check the oil level between each pause.
    The generator operates well, it starts on the first try using all three starting options on gas or propane.
    It is very quiet without a load applied.
    With load applied you can hear the increase in noise level, but overall, it is still extremely quiet for a generator of that size and output. Yes, I would recommend the iGEN4500DF.

  10. Igen45

    Starts fast! Great generator starts fast runs so smooth. Shipping on the other hand broken pieces. Contacting company now for FREE replacement pieces. They better come through. Great product!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.